Google mail, contacts, and calendar
PDF

Synchronize contacts and activities with Google

Products
All Creatio products

To enable synchronization setup of Google contacts and calendar with Creatio contacts and activities, the synchronization must be set up beforehand.

An example of synchronization setup in the Contacts section is described below.

  1. Open the Contacts section.

  2. Create a private tag to be used for synchronization, for example, “Google synchronization”.

    Note. Only records with private tags are synchronized. Records with public or corporate tags never synchronize.

  3. Click Actions –> Synchronize contacts –> Set up.... Take the following steps in the settings page:

    1. For activities to synchronize automatically, select the Synchronize activities automatically checkbox and specify the synchronization interval. To start synchronization from a specified date, select the required date in the Synchronize from field.

    2. To automatically synchronize contacts, select the Synchronize contacts automatically checkbox and specify the synchronization interval.

    3. To synchronize contacts with a specific tag, in the Send all contacts with a tag from Creatio to Google field select the required tag.

  4. Click Save.

    Note. Date and time of the latest synchronization session is displayed on the setup page.

    As a result, both your Google account and the Creatio contact tag for synchronization will be saved in the system, and the synchronization will be started at the specified time intervals automatically.

    Note. In the Activities section, setting up synchronization with Google is done in the same manner. Note that you don't need to specify the tag for synchronizing tasks in the synchronization settings of the Activities section.

Synchronize Creatio contacts with Google contacts 

You can use the synchronization option to add your Google contacts into Creatio. The action is only performed for records that are specially tagged as per the synchronization settings.

To run the synchronization for the first time:

  1. Open the Contacts section

  2. Click Actions –> Synchronize contacts –> Start synchronization.

    As a result of synchronization, a new group of contacts titled “Creatio” will be added to your Gmail contacts.

    Note. If you set up automatic synchronization, the process starts automatically.

  3. Move the Gmail contacts to the “Creatio” group.

  4. Click Synchronize contacts –> Start synchronization again to synchronize.

    As a result, the Gmail contacts from the “Creatio” group will be imported into Creatio with the private tag specified during the synchronization setup.

    Note. If you set up automatic synchronization, the process starts automatically.

    From this point on, the synchronization of Google and Creatio contacts is performed in both directions. Synchronization is run only for those records that have been changed or added since the last synchronization session.

    If a record has been modified in both Gmail and Creatio, the most recent changes will be used for the synchronization.

    If records were deleted in Gmail or Creatio, the next synchronization will not delete them from Creatio or Gmail. In the first case, the tags will be removed from such records. In the second case, the records will be excluded from the “Creatio” group.

Synchronize Creatio activities with Google calendar 

If you use the Google calendar to plan your activities, you can synchronize it with your Creatio calendar.

You must register Creatio in G Suite to synchronize your Creatio schedule with Google calendar. Read more: Register Creatio application in G Suite.

Go to the Activities section and click Actions –> Synchronize activities –> Start synchronization.

When you run this action, the Creatio activities are synchronized with the primary calendar of the Google account specified in the synchronization settings. All activities with the Display in calendar mark synchronize from Creatio. Synchronization runs by the Organizer field. Thus, if an event organizer has not set up synchronization, the Organizer field is filled by the participant of the activity who has run the synchronization. If the current author creates an event in Google, synchronization with Creatio adds it into the system and adds the participants to the Participants detail. Only users who have the same email listed on the Communication options detail and in the Google event will be added to the list of participants. This collective task is displayed for other participants only after they synchronize their calendar with Google.

If a collective task that was created in Creatio by synchronizing with Google has been modified by one of its participants, all changes will be displayed in Google.

Note. Synchronization can also be run automatically, within the time intervals specified in the synchronization settings.